U.S. Amateur Four-Ball History

The inaugural U.S. Women's Four-Ball Championship -- and U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Championship -- are the newest national championships to be conducted by the USGA. They have replaced the now-retired U.S. Amateur Public Links and U.S. Women's Amateur Public Links Championships, which were conducted for the final time in 2014.

The creation of the two competitions was announced on Feb. 11, 2013. They are the first additions to the USGA roster of national championships since the U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur in 1987.

Four-ball has become a widely popular format for State and Regional Golf Associations across the United States. In 2012, more than 150 championships, either strictly four-ball or as part of a competition format, were conducted in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

“We couldn’t be more excited about the creation of national four-ball championships, given the popularity and enjoyment of this competitive format at the amateur level,” said then-USGA vice president Thomas J. O'Toole Jr., who chaired the Championship Committee at the time of the 2013 announcement. “Because the four-ball format lends itself to spirited team competition and aggressive risk-reward shotmaking, we are confident these championships will deliver exciting amateur golf to the national stage for both players and spectators alike.”

The USGA accepted 2,234 sides for the inaugural U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Championship.

Four-time U.S. Mid-Amateur champion Nathan Smith, of Pittsburgh, Pa., and his partner Todd White, 47, of Spartanburg, S.C., won the 2015 title with a 7-and-5 victory over North Carolinians Greg Earnhardt, 46, of Greensboro, and Sherrill Britt, 49, of West End, on The Olympic Club's Lake Course in San Francisco.