Uihlein Receives McCormack Medal October 27, 2010 By R&A

Peter Uihlein, winner of this year's U.S. Amateur, shows off the McCormack Medal. (Courtesy International Golf Federation)


28 October 2010, St Andrews, Scotland - The current World Amateur Golf Ranking number one, Peter Uihlein, has received the 2010 Mark H McCormack Medal, the award given to the world’s top amateur golfer at the culmination of the amateur season, following the U.S. Amateur and European Amateur championships.    

The 21-year-old, who was confirmed as the winner of the Medal in August, was presented with the award by the Chairman of The R&A, Allan Gormly, in a ceremony conducted yesterday in Argentina on the eve of the World Amateur Team Championships’ Eisenhower Trophy. 

 “This is pretty special. It ranks right up there with winning the U.S. Amateur,” said Uihlein, who has spent 21 weeks at the top of the World Amateur Golf Ranking. “I am thankful to The R&A and appreciate their kindness. To join the list of gentlemen who have won previously is an honour.”  

The fourth recipient of the Medal, Uihlein was confirmed as the 2010 winner following a 4&2 victory over Eisenhower team-mate David Chung in the final of the U.S. Amateur Championship at Chambers Bay. Courtesy of the win, he will make his Major Championship debut in April 2011 at the Masters Tournament, before taking his place in the U.S. Open at Congressional Country Club and contesting his first Open Championship at Royal St George’s in July.   

Since the U.S. Amateur, he has played in three ranking events, winning the OFCC Fighting Illini Invitational and recording top-three finishes at both the Ping-Golfweek Preview and the Jack Nicklaus Invitational to cement his status as world number one.  

Prior to his victory at Chambers Bay, the junior at Oklahoma State University enjoyed a memorable 12 months.  He was a member of the winning 2009 USA Walker Cup Team, earning four points from a possible four against Great Britain and Ireland at Merion.    

Following the Walker Cup, Uihlein won both the Ping-Golfweek Preview in September 2009 and the Dixie Amateur in December. Earlier in 2010, he claimed the NCAA Division I Southeast Regional and the Sahalee Players Championship. He first reached the top of the Ranking in May 2010. 

Previous recipients of the Mark H McCormack Medal are the USA’s Colt Knost (2007), Danny Lee of New Zealand (2008) and Canadian Nick Taylor (2009).