USGA Accepts 2,525 Senior Open Entries June 8, 2011 By USGA


Far Hills, N.J.  – The United States Golf Association has accepted 2,525 entries, including those from 78 players who are already fully exempt into the field, for the 2011 U.S. Senior Open Championship to be played July 28-31 at Inverness Club in Toledo, Ohio. The exempt list includes 13 past champions 

Entries were received from 49 states (all except North Dakota) and the District of Columbia. In addition to the USA, entries were received from 17 countries: Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Canada, Colombia, England, France, Germany, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Paraguay, People’s Republic of China, Philippines, South Africa, Sweden, and Thailand. 

Gary Davidson of East Prairie, Mo., was the first to submit an application, and the last entry was submitted two seconds before the 5 p.m. EDT deadline on June 8 by Gary Updegraff of Des Moines, Iowa. To be eligible, a player must be at least 50 years old on or before July 28 and must have no higher than a 3.4 Handicap Index, or be a professional. 

Players who are already fully exempt from qualifying include 2010 champion Bernhard Langer and 12 other past champions, including Brad Bryant (2007), Dale Douglass (1986), Allen Doyle (2005, 2006), Dave Eichelberger (1999), Bruce Fleisher (2001), Fred Funk (2009), Hale Irwin (1998, 2000), Peter Jacobsen (2004), Bruce Lietzke (2003), Graham Marsh (1997), Don Pooley (2002) and Eduardo Romero (2008). All previous Senior Open champions are fully exempt into the field if they file an entry. 

Places in the 156-player field are also reserved for winners of official PGA Champions Tour events in the weeks remaining before the start of the 2011 U.S. Senior Open. The remainder of the field will be filled through sectional qualifying at 35 sites between June 20 and July 1.  

A list of the 78 golfers who are fully exempt for the 2011 U.S. Senior Open (as of June 8) follows: 


Michael Allen   

Tommy Armour III 

Paul Azinger 

Phil Blackmar 

Mark Brooks     

Olin Browne 

Brad Bryant 

Mark Calcavecchia 

Russ Cochran 

John Cook 

Fred Couples 

Ben Crenshaw 

Dale Douglass 

Allen Doyle 

David Eger 

Dave Eichelberger 

Keith Fergus 

Bruce Fleisher 

Dan Forsman 

Angel Franco 

David Frost 

Fred Funk 

Robert Gilder 

Michael Goodes 

Jay Haas 

Gary Hallberg 

Scott Hoch 

John Huston 

Hale Irwin         

a-Tim Jackson 

Peter Jacobsen 

Tom Jenkins 

Steven Jones 

Tom Kite 

Masahiro Kuramoto      

Bernhard Langer           

Tom Lehman 

J.L. Lewis 

Bruce Lietzke 

Steve Lowery     

Chien-Soon Lu 

Graham Marsh 

Mark McNulty 

Larry Mize 

John Morse 

Kiyoshi Murota              

Larry Nelson     

Lonnie Nielsen             

Mark O'Meara 

Naomichi Ozaki 

Jerry Pate 

Corey Pavin 

David Peoples 

Tom Pernice 

Don Pooley 

Nick Price         

Tom Purtzer 

Dana Quigley    

Michael Reid 

Loren Roberts 

Eduardo Romero 

Boonchu Ruangkit 

Ted Schulz 

Peter Senior 

Scott Simpson 

a-Paul Simson   

Joey Sindelar    

Jeff Sluman      

Rod Spittle 

Craig Stadler 

Hal Sutton 

a-Patrick Tallent 

Bob Tway 

Bruce Vaughan             

D.A. Weibring 

Mark Wiebe 

Christopher Williams    

Fuzzy Zoeller