NCR C.C. Awarded 2013 Women's State Team October 5, 2011 By USGA

A look at the fourth hole on the South Course of NCR Country Club, which will host the 2013 USGA Women's State Team Championship. (USGA Museum)

Far Hills, N.J. – NCR Country Club in Kettering, Ohio, has been selected by the United States Golf Association as the site of the 2013 USGA Women’s State Team Championship. The dates of the championship are Sept. 17-19.

NCR’s South Course, which was designed by Dick Wilson and opened in 1954, will be used for the 54-hole, stroke-play competition. The South Course has previously hosted three USGA championships: the 1986 U.S. Women’s Open, won by Jane Geddes in a playoff over Sally Little; the 1998 U.S. Mid-Amateur, won by John “Spider” Miller; and the 2005 U.S. Senior Open, won by Allen Doyle. It also hosted the 1969 PGA Championship, won by Raymond Floyd.

“We’ve had a long-standing tradition of holding championships at NCR Country Club, going back to the 1969 PGA Championship and carrying on through to the 2005 U.S. Senior Open,” said Steve Bolerjack, general manager/chief operating officer for NCR C.C. “This just continues our important relationship with the USGA. We thought it was appropriate timing for us to host the Women’s State Team Championship. We’re very excited about hosting this event.”

This will be the first USGA Women’s State Team Championship held in Ohio, and the 38th USGA championship conducted in the state. The Country Club in Cleveland will host the 2012 U.S. Women’s Amateur.

Ohio won the 2003 Women’s State Team Championship when the competition was held at Wellesley Country Club in Wellesley Hills, Mass.