Lang Reappointed Chairman Of USGA Women's Committee January 3, 2012 By USGA

Martha Lang has been reappointed to a second one-year term as chairman of the Women's Committee. (John Mummert/USGA)

Far Hills, N.J. – The United States Golf Association has appointed Martha Lang, of Birmingham, Ala., to a second one-year term as chairman of the USGA Women’s Committee in 2012.

Dot Paluck, of Bernardsville, N.J., will also serve another one-year term as vice chairman of the Women’s Committee, which advises the USGA Executive Committee in matters relating to women’s golf. The Women's Committee's primary responsibility is to oversee the administration of the six championships for women and girls conducted by the USGA.

An accomplished player, Lang won the 1988 U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship, was a member of the 1992 USA Curtis Cup Team and captained the 1996 USA Curtis Cup Team. Even while serving as chairman of the Women’s Committee, Lang qualified for two USGA championships in 2011: the USGA Senior Women’s Amateur and the U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur.

“I’ve really enjoyed it more than I thought I would,” said Lang of her first term. “I enjoy working with all the committees and the USGA staff. The more you work with them, the more you realize how good they are.”

In addition to being a member of the Women’s Committee since 1999, Lang was chairman of the Girls’ Junior Committee from 2002 to 2004, and was a member of the Women’s International Team Selection Committee from 2003 to 2009.

A member of the Women’s Committee since 2002, Paluck was chairman of the USGA Women’s State Team Championship from 2005 to 2009, and has served on the Regional Associations Committee and the Women’s Regional Affairs Committee. She is a commissioner for the Somerset County (N.J.) Park Commission, which operates five golf facilities, including Neshanic Valley Golf Course, the host of the 2012 U.S. Women’s Amateur Public Links Championship.

In addition to reappointing Lang and Paluck, the USGA Executive Committee ratified 10 other candidates for the Women’s Committee: Barbara Barrow, of San Diego; Stacey Collins, of Cockeysville, Md.; Cece Durbin, of Winnetka, Ill.; Lew Ellen Erickson, of Tulsa, Okla.; Sarah Haas, of Carterville, Ill.; Martha Kirouac, of Norcross, Ga.; Judi Lorenzen, of Marana, Ariz.; Pam Murray, of Richardson, Texas; Courtney Myhrum, of Pittsburgh; and Mandy Rasmussen, of Gearhart, Ore.

The Women’s Committee welcomes two new members: Kathryn Washburn, of Mill Valley, Calif.; and Melinda Zamzow of Reno, Nev. A member of the USGA Senior Women’s Amateur Championship Committee since 2008, Washburn has been active in the Northern California Golf Association. A USGA volunteer since 1998, Zamzow has been a member of the U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur Committee and has served as a Rules official at numerous USGA championships, including the U.S. Open and U.S. Women’s Open.

Two members of the Women’s Committee are retiring at the end of their term: Cindy Reimers, of Missoula, Mont.; and Laura Saf, of Lincoln, Neb.