The French Lick Resort's Pete Dye Course (par-4 ninth hole, pictured) will host the 2014 USGA Men's State Team Championship. (Brian Walters Photography)

The United States Golf Association today announced the Pete Dye Course at French Lick (Ind.) Resort as the host site for the 2014 USGA Men’s State Team Championship. The dates of the championship are Sept. 30-Oct. 2.

“The Men’s State Team Championship demonstrates the camaraderie and pure enjoyment drawn from this game we all love,” said Thomas J. O’Toole Jr., USGA vice president and Championship Committee chairman. “We are very happy to bring a USGA championship to the French Lick Resort and are confident that the Pete Dye Course will provide a challenge for the championship participants.”

The 2014 Men’s State Team Championship will be the first USGA event held at French Lick Resort and the 21st in the state of Indiana, following the 2013 U.S. Girls’ Junior Championship at Sycamore Hills Golf Club in Fort Wayne and the 2014 U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship at Harbour Trees Golf Club in Noblesville.

“We are very excited to be partnering with the governing body of the game and hosting one of the USGA's most popular championships,” said Dave Harner, director of golf at French Lick Resort. “With our world-class resort amenities and championship golf venues, we are looking forward to showcasing French Lick Resort to so many outstanding golfers from around the country in the State Team Championship.”

Acclaimed golf course architect Pete Dye designed the course, which opened for play in 2009 and is the newest of the four courses at French Lick Resort. Located in the southern Indiana hills, the layout sits atop Mount Aerie, one of the state’s highest points. Dye incorporated the natural elevation changes into his design, which provides panoramic views of the surrounding countryside.

The Pete Dye Course hosted the 2012 Big Ten Men’s Golf Championship, won by the University of Illinois, and will serve as host in 2013 and 2014. The resort’s Donald Ross Course is holding the Big Ten Women’s Golf Championship concurrently with the men’s championship.

The Ross Course has a long history as a tournament site; it was the site of the 1924 PGA Championship and the 1959 and 1960 LPGA Championships.

In 2010, the two courses combined to host the PGA Professional National Championship, and in September 2013, the Pete Dye Course will host the LPGA Legends Tour Championship.      

The USGA Men’s and Women’s State Team Championships grew out of the celebration of the USGA centennial in 1995 and have since been held biennially. The championships are open to players from all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. State associations may use any criteria of their choosing in selecting their teams, which comprise three amateur, non-college golfers.