More Than 2,400 to Aim For U.S. Senior Open Glory May 7, 2015 | FAR HILLS, N.J. By USGA

2000 U.S. Open co-runner-up Miguel Angel Jiménez, a 21-time European Tour winner, is one of 79 players exempt into the U.S. Senior Open. (USGA/Michael Cohen)

FAR HILLS, N.J. – A total of 2,445 entries have been accepted for the 2015 U.S. Senior Open Championship, scheduled for June 25-28 at Del Paso Country Club, in Sacramento, Calif. Eleven past champions are among the 79 players who are currently fully exempt into the championship.

“The U.S. Senior Open is senior golf’s most coveted championship and the number of entries is evidence of the interest,” said Diana Murphy, USGA vice president and Championship Committee chairman. “We are excited to bring the U.S. Senior Open to Northern California and Del Paso Country Club for the first time and look forward to awarding the Francis D. Ouimet Memorial Trophy to the champion in June.”

The U.S. Senior Open is open to professional golfers and amateurs with a Handicap Index® not exceeding 3.4 who are 50 years of age at the start of championship play.

Sectional qualifying will be played over 18 holes at 34 sites across the United States between May 11 and June 4. There are qualifying sites in 26 states, including five in California and three in Florida. In addition, places in the 156-player field are reserved for eligible winners of official PGA Tour and Champions Tour events in the weeks remaining before the 2015 U.S. Senior Open.

The USGA accepted entries for the 36th U.S. Senior Open from golfers in 49 states and the District of Columbia, as well as 25 foreign countries. The record for entries was established in 2002, when 3,101 golfers applied to play.

Colin Montgomerie, the 2014 champion, and 10 other Senior Open champions are fully exempt from having to qualify for the championship. They are: Olin Browne (2011), Brad Bryant (2007), Roger Chapman (2012), Dave Eichelberger (1999), Fred Funk (2009), Hale Irwin (1998, 2000), Peter Jacobsen (2004), Bernhard Langer (2010), Kenny Perry (2013) and Eduardo Romero (2008).

There are eight U.S. Open champions among the 79 exempt players. They are: three-time champion Hale Irwin (1974, 1979, 1990), Lee Janzen (1993, 1998), Steve Jones (1996), Tom Kite (1992), Jerry Pate (1976), Corey Pavin (1995), Scott Simpson (1987) and Tom Watson (1982).

For the fifth consecutive year, only online entries were accepted, beginning on March 4. John Heaton, a 51-year-old professional from Carlsbad, N.M., submitted his entry 1 minute, 48 seconds before the deadline of 5 p.m. EDT on May 6. John Abendroth, a 62-year-old professional from Burlingame, Calif., was the first entrant.

The 79 golfers who are fully exempt into the 2015 U.S. Senior Open (as of May 6):

Michael Allen


Kohki Idoki


Kenny Perry

Stephen Ames


Hale Irwin


John Riegger

Billy Andrade


Peter Jacobsen


Loren Roberts

Woody Austin


Lee Janzen


Eduardo Romero

Mark Brooks


Miguel Angel Jimenez


Gene Sauers

Olin Browne


Steve Jones


Peter Senior

Bart Bryant


Tom Kite


Wes Short Jr.

Brad Bryant


Masahiro Kuramoto


Scott Simpson

Tom Byrum


Barry Lane


Joey Sindelar

Mark Calcavecchia


Bernhard Langer


Vijay Singh

Roger Chapman


Tom Lehman


Jeff Sluman

Russ Cochran


Steve Lowery


Craig Stadler

John Cook


Jeff Maggert


Kevin Sutherland

Fred Couples


Paul Mayo


Hal Sutton

Marco Dawson


a-Michael McCoy


a-Patrick Tallent

Scott Dunlap


Rocco Mediate


Lance Ten Broeck

Joe Durant


Eric Meeks


Esteban Toledo

Dave Eichelberger


Larry Mize


Kirk Triplett

David Frost


Cesar Monasterio


Bob Tway

Fred Funk


Colin Montgomerie


Scott Verplank

Rick Gibson


Kiyoshi Murota


Duffy Waldorf

Bob Gilder


a-Bryan Norton


Tom Watson

Philip Golding


Mark O’Meara


Paul Wesselingh

Paul Goydos


Jesper Parnevik


Mark Wiebe

Jay Haas


Jerry Pate


Ian Woosnam

Scott Hoch


Corey Pavin



John Huston


Tom Pernice Jr.



Bold - U.S. Senior Open champion    a - amateur

Related Content