Chile's Joaquin Niemann Wins 2017 McCormack Medal August 24, 2017 | Far Hills, N.J. and St. Andrews, Scotland

Joaquin Niemann, of Chile, is the first player from South America to win the Mark H. McCormack Medal for being the leading amateur golfer. (USGA/John Gress)

As the leading player in the 2017 World Amateur Golf Ranking™ at the close of the summer’s championship season, Joaquin Niemann, of Chile, is the winner of the Mark H. McCormack Medal.

"I am very honored to receive the prestigious 2017 Mark H. McCormack medal,” said Niemann, the first player from South America to win the McCormack Medal since its inception in 2007. “Thank you to the USGA and The R&A for this important award."

A 2016 Rolex Junior All-America First-Team selection, Niemann kicked off 2017 with a runner-up finish in the 3rd Latin America Amateur Championship, where he competed in a three-man playoff for the title. He also made several appearances in professional events in 2017, including the U.S. Open and the GreenBrier Classic, where he returned a 72-hole score of 5-under 275 that included a round-leading 64 in the final round. He also won three professional events in Chile, as well as the TaylorMade-adidas Golf Junior at Innisbrook and the Junior Invitational at Sage Valley Golf Club, both in April.

In last week’s U.S. Amateur at The Riviera Country Club and Bel-Air Country Club, Niemann lost to NCAA individual champion and 2017 USA Walker Cup Team member Braden Thornberry in the Round of 64, 1 down. A two-time winner of the IMG Academy Junior World Championship (2015-16), Niemann advanced to the quarterfinals in the 2017 Western Amateur.

Niemann, who joins Danny Lee (2008) and Matthew Fitzpatrick (2013) as the only 18-year-olds to earn the McCormack Medal, will receive an exemption into the 2018 U.S. Open Championship at Shinnecock Hills Golf Club in Southampton, N.Y. (June 14-17), and the 147th Open Championship at Carnoustie Golf Links in Scotland (July 19-22), provided he remains an amateur.

Winners of Mark H. McCormack Medal
2017 Joaquin Niemann Chile
2016 Maverick McNealy United States
2015 Jon Rahm Spain
2014 Oliver Schniederjans United States
2013 Matthew Fitzpatrick England
2012 Chris Williams United States
2011 Patrick Cantlay United States
2010 Peter Uihlein United States
2009 Nick Taylor Canada
2008 Danny Lee New Zealand
2007 Colt Knost United States

This R&A and United States Golf Association (USGA) award is named after Mark H. McCormack, who founded the sports marketing company IMG and was a great supporter of amateur golf.

Duncan Weir, Executive Director – Golf Development at The R&A, said, “Joaquin is a thoroughly deserving winner of the Mark H. McMack medal, and I wish to congratulate him on an excellent season. It’s wonderful to see another talented young golfer emerge from South America to compete on the global stage, and we look forward to welcoming Joaquin to Carnoustie for The 147th Open next year.”

“Joaquin Niemann has consistently returned impressive results, especially in high-profile events, and the USGA is pleased to see his steady play recognized with the McCormack Medal,” said John Bodenhamer, USGA senior managing director, Championships & Governance. “We look forward to watching Joaquin succeed for many years to come.”

Last week, Leona Maguire, of Ireland, was named the winner of the Mark H. McCormack Medal for the third consecutive year as the leading player in the Women’s World Amateur Golf Ranking™.

The World Amateur Golf Ranking™, which is supported by Rolex, was established in 2007 with the launch of the men’s ranking which encompasses more than 2,600 counting events, ranking more than 6,000 players from 103 countries. The women’s ranking was launched in 2011 and has a calendar of more than 1,400 counting events with more than 2,700 ranked players from 73 countries.