2017 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Fast Facts January 31, 2017

Todd White (left) and Nathan Smith claimed the inaugural U.S. Amateur Four-Ball title in 2015 at The Olympic Club. (USGA/Darren Carroll)
Championship Venue Pinehurst Resort & Country Club (Course No. 2), Village of Pinehurst, N.C.
Stroke-Play Co-Host Venue Pinehurst Resort & Country Club (Course No. 8), Village of Pinehurst, N.C.
Opened 1907 (Course No. 2); 1996 (Course No. 8)
Architect Donald Ross (No. 2); Revisions: Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw
Tom Fazio (Course No. 8)
Dates of Championship May 27-31
Yardages/Par Course No. 2: 7,161 yards/Par 70
Course No. 8: 7,073 yards/Par 71
Field Size 128 sides
Eligibility Each member of a side cannot have a Handicap Index exceeding 5.4.
Yardage/Par Course No. 2: 6,728/70
Course No. 8: 7,073/71
Yardages/Par subject to change
2016 Championship Southern Methodist University teammates Benjamin Baxter, 20, of Flower Mound, Texas, and Andrew Buchanan, 21, of Los Altos, Calif., mastered the inward nine of Winged Foot Golf Club's East Course in Mamaroneck, N.Y., en route to the title. With the usual match-play concessions, the duo played 40 holes on the second nine in 14 under par. They defeated Brandon Cigna and Ben Warnquist, 3 and 2, in the 18-hole final.
Quotable “I’d say sometimes on the front nine, we almost got a little too complacent with our play. We almost got a little too comfortable getting down early in the match. On 8 through 18, we felt really comfortable with our clubs off the tee and our clubs into the green. I’d say it’s just keeping a positive attitude and kind of switching your mindset to a fresh start for the back nine.” -- Benjamin Baxter
Notable Past Events at Pinehurst 1936 PGA Championship (Denny Shute)
1954 Ryder Cup Matches (USA)
1962 U.S. Amateur (Labron Harris)
1989 U.S. Women's Amateur (Vicki Goetze)
1994 U.S. Senior Open (Simon Hobday)
1999 U.S. Open (Payne Stewart)
2005 U.S. Open (Michael Campbell)
2008 U.S. Amateur (Danny Lee)
2014 U.S. Open (Martin Kaymer)
2014 U.S. Women's Open (Michelle Wie)
Who's In Click here to view qualifying results.
Sectional Qualifying Qualifying began on Aug. 25, 2016 and will conclude on April 17, 2017 (51 sites).
Schedule of Play Saturday, May 27 (Stroke Play, Round 1, 18 holes)
Sunday, May 28 (Stroke Play, Round 2, 18 holes)
Monday, May 29 (Round of 32, match play)
Tuesday, May 30 (Round of 16/Quarterfinal matches)
Wednesday, May 31 (Semifinals, Championship match – 18 holes)
Match-Play Cut 32 sides will qualify for match play following two rounds of stroke play.
Future Sites 2018: Jupiter Hills Club, Tequesta, Fla./May 19-23
2019: Chambers Bay, University Place, Wash./May 25-29
2020: Philadelphia Cricket Club, Philadelphia, Pa./May 23-27