2017 U.S. Senior Open Fast Facts November 2, 2016

Kenny Perry tied the championship's 72-hole scoring record at Omaha (Neb.) Country Club in 2013. (USGA/John Mummert)
Championship Venue Salem Country Club, Peabody, Mass.
Opened 1926
Architect Donald Ross
Dates of Championship June 29-July 2
Field Size 156
Eligibility Open to any professional and amateur golfer who is 50 years of age as of June 29 and whose Handicap Index does not exceed 3.4 
Entries Open N/A
Entries Close N/A
2016 Championship Two years after losing in a three-hole aggregate playoff to Colin Montgomerie at Oak Tree National, Gene Sauers carded a final-round 69 to edge Miguel Angel Jimenez and Billy Mayfair by a stroke to win the weather-delayed U.S. Senior Open at Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio. Due to heavy rain, the final round could not be completed until Monday. It was Sauers' first victory in the 50-and-over circuit.
Quotable "Everyone tells me -- the players, my wife, my friends -- you've just got to get there. The more times you get there, the easier it's going to be. I'm not saying it was easy today, but I got it done." -- Gene Sauers
Notable Past Events at Salem Country Club (5) 1932 U.S. Women's Amateur (Virginia Van Wie)
1954 U.S. Women's Open (Babe Didrikson Zaharias)
1977 U.S. Senior Amateur (Dale Morey)
1984 U.S. Women's Open (Hollis Stacy)
2001 U.S. Senior Open (Bruce Fleisher)
U.S. Senior Opens held in Massachusetts (1) 2001: Salem C.C., Peabody (Bruce Fleisher)
Notable U.S. Senior Open Champions Arnold Palmer (1981); Miller Barber (1982, 1984-85); Billy Casper (1983); Gary Player (1987-88); Lee Trevino (1990); Jack Nicklaus (1991, 1993); Tom Weiskopf (1995); Hale Irwin (1998, 2000); Allen Doyle (2005-06); Fred Funk (2009); Bernhard Langer (2010); Colin Montgomerie (2014)
Notable U.S. Senior Open Runners-Up a-William C. Campbell (1980); Gene Littler (1982); Arnold Palmer (1984); Gary Player (1986); Bob Charles (1988); Jack Nicklaus (1990, 1995); Chi Chi Rodriguez (1991); Hale Irwin (1996, 2004); Tom Watson (2002-03, 2006); Ben Crenshaw (2007); Fred Couples (2010); Fred Funk (2008, 2012-13); Mark O’Meara (2011); Colin Montgomerie (2015); Miguel Angel Jimenez (2016); Billy Mayfair (2016)
Schedule of Play June 29 (First Round, 18 holes, stroke play)
June 30 (Second Round, 18 holes, stroke play)
July 1 (Third Round, 18 holes, stroke play)
July 2 (Final Round, 18 holes, stroke play)
Television Coverage (All times EDT) June 29 (First Round: Bonus Coverage): 10 a.m.-Noon (usga.org)
June 29 (First Round: Featured Group): 2-7 p.m. (usga.org)
June 29 (First Round): 2-7 p.m. (FS1)
June 30 (Second Round: Bonus Coverage): 10 a.m.-Noon (usga.org)
June 30 (Second Round: Featured Group): 2-7 p.m. (usga.org)
June 30 (Second Round): 2-7 p.m. (FS1)
July 1 (Third Round: Featured Group): 1-6 p.m. (usga.org)
July 1 (Third Round): 1-6 p.m. (Fox)
July 2 (Final Round: Featured Group): 1-6 p.m. (usga.org)
July 2 (Final Round): 1-6 p.m. (Fox)
Cut Low 60 scorers and ties will play final 36 holes
Future Sites 2018: The Broadmoor (East Course), Colorado Springs, Colo./June 28-July 1
2019: Warren Course at Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Ind./June 27-30