2018 U.S. Senior Women's Amateur Fast Facts November 30, 2017 | Far Hills, N.J. By David Shefter, USGA

Three-time U.S. Senior Women's Amateur champion Ellen Port has claimed seven overall USGA championships. (USGA/Matt Sullivan)

U.S. Senior Women's Amateur Home

Championship Venue Orchid Island Golf & Beach Club
Opened 1990
Architect Arnold Palmer (revisions by Erik Larsen in 2005)
Dates of Championship October 6-11
Field 132 players
Yardage/Par 5,837 yards/Par 72 (Subject to Change)
Entries Open Week of April 30
Entries Close August 1 (5 p.m. EDT)
Eligibility Open to any female amateur who has reached her 50th birthday by Oct. 6 and whose Handicap Index does not exceed 14.4.
Sectional Qualifying Sectional qualifying will take place at 24 sites between Aug. 26 and Sept. 18. (Subject to change)
2017 Championship In the first all-Canadian final in championship history, Judith Kyrinis, 53, defeated Terrill Samuel, 4 and 3, at Waverley Country Club in Portland, Ore. Three years earlier, Kyrinis was the runner-up to Joan Higgins in her first year of eligibility.
Quotable “It’s very special, very surreal. I don’t really believe that I’ve won yet. You know, it was a tough match to lose [three years ago]. You take it to 18, and like I said, I was crying like a baby, and it’s not because I was mad I lost, it’s just because you’re so pent up with all these emotions for the whole week.”
Notable Past Events at Orchid Island Golf & Beach Club 2008 South Florida PGA Championship (Lee Rinker)
2010 Florida Senior Match Play Championship (Pete Andrews)
2014 South Florida PGA Championship (Paul Scaletta)
U.S. Senior Women's Amateurs in Florida (3) 1963: Country Club of Florida, Delray Beach (Marion Choate)
1970: Coral Ridge Country Club, Fort Lauderdale (Carolyn Cudone)
2010: Fiddlesticks Country Club, Fort Myers (Mina Hardin)
Fast Fact on Orchid Island Club became a certified Audubon sanctuary in 2005
Notable U.S. Senior Women's Amateur Champions Maureen Orcutt (1962, 1966); Carolyn Cudone (1969-72); Dorothy Porter (1977, 1980-81, 1983); Alice Dye (1978-79); Marlene Stewart Streit (1985, 1994, 2003); Anne Sander (1987, 1989-90, 1993); Carol Semple Thompson (1999-2002); Diane Lang (2005-06, 2008); Ellen Port (2012-13, 2016)
Notable U.S. Senior Women's Amateur Runners-Up Glenna Collett Vare (1962); Ann Gregory (1971); Carolyn Cudone (1974-75); Alice Dye (1977, 1981, 1989); Cecile Maclaurin (1978-80); Marlene Stewart Streit (1986, 1988, 1990, 1995-96); Anne Sander (1991-92); Toni Wiesner (1997, 2000, 2008); Mina Hardin (2011)
Schedule of Play Saturday, Oct. 6 (Stroke play, Round 1, 18 holes)
Sunday, Oct. 7 (Stroke play, Round 2, 18 holes)
Monday, Oct. 8 (Round of 64, match play)
Tuesday, Oct. 9 (Round of 32/Round of 16, match play)
Wednesday, Oct. 10(Quarterfinals/Semifinals, match play)
Thursday, Oct. 11 (Championship Match, 18 holes)
Match-Play Cut The low 64 scorers following stroke play will qualify for match play. If necessary, a playoff will be conducted to determine the final spots in the draw.
Future Sites 2019: Cedar Rapids (Iowa) Country Club/Aug. 24-29