Farquharson-Black Tabbed to Again Captain GB&I Side November 15, 2017 | St. Andrews, Scotland By The R&A

Elaine Farquharson-Black will be looking to captain Great Britain & Ireland to a second consecutive victory next June at Quaker Ridge. (USGA/Steven Gibbons)

Elaine Farquharson-Black will captain Great Britain and Ireland in the Curtis Cup Match for the second time when the biennial encounter against the United States of America is contested at Quaker Ridge Golf Club June 8-10.

Farquharson-Black, who played in the 1990 and 1992 matches, led GB&I to an 11½-8½ win over the USA in 2016 at Dun Laoghaire in the Republic of Ireland and will be looking to retain the trophy when the two sides face each other in New York next summer.

Helen Hewlett will also act as GB&I’s team manager.

The USA Curtis Cup Team will be captained by Virginia Derby Grimes.

“I am very proud to have been selected to captain Great Britain and Ireland again and I am looking forward to the challenge of retaining the trophy after our memorable win at Dun Laoghaire last year,” said Farquharson-Black. “We will be working with a very talented group of golfers over the coming months before we select a team of eight players for what promises to be a thrilling match against the United States next summer.”

An invited group of six players will join Farquharson-Black on a visit to Quaker Ridge next week, including Alice Hewson, world No. 1 Leona Maguire, and OIivia Mehaffey, all of whom played on the winning GB&I team in 2016. India Clyburn, Sophie Lamb and Annabel Wilson will also join the trip to the East Coast of the United States which will include opportunities for the players to practice on the course.

Next year’s match will mark the 40th staging of the Curtis Cup, with the USA owning a 28-8-3 advantage.  

After staging the Walker Cup in 1997, Quaker Ridge will become only the third course in the United States to have hosted both the Curtis Cup and Walker Cup following The Minikahda Club (1957 Walker Cup, 1998 Curtis Cup) and Merion Golf Club (1954 Curtis Cup, 2009 Walker Cup).

More From the 40th Curtis Cup