12 Past Champions Among 79 Exempt Players for 40th U.S. Senior Open May 9, 2019 | Liberty Corner, N.J. By Brian DePasquale, USGA

Two-time U.S. Open champion Retief Goosen will be making his U.S. Senior Open debut in June. (USGA/Jeff Haynes)

Twelve past champions are among the 2,796 entries that the USGA accepted for the 40th U.S. Senior Open Championship, scheduled for June 27-30, 2019 at the Warren Golf Course at Notre Dame, in South Bend, Ind. A total of 79 players are currently exempt into the championship.

David Toms, the 2018 champion, and 11 other Senior Open champions are fully exempt from having to qualify for the championship. They are: Olin Browne (2011), Brad Bryant (2007), Roger Chapman (2012), Fred Funk (2009), Hale Irwin (1998, 2000), Peter Jacobsen (2004), Bernhard Langer (2010), Jeff Maggert (2015), Colin Montgomerie (2014), Kenny Perry (2013, 2017), and Gene Sauers (2016).

“The worldwide interest in the U.S. Senior Open, considered senior golf’s most prestigious championship, continues to remain at a high level and the Warren Golf Course at Notre Dame will provide a strong test for a competitive field,” said John Bodenhamer, USGA senior managing director for Championships. “The USGA is excited to bring the U.S. Senior Open to the Michiana region and we look forward to awarding the Francis D. Ouimet Memorial Trophy to the champion.”

The U.S. Senior Open is open to professional golfers, and amateurs with a Handicap Index® not exceeding 3.4 who are 50 years of age at the start of championship play.

Sectional qualifying will be played over 18 holes at 34 sites across the United States between May 13 and June 10. There are qualifying sites in 26 states, including five in California, three in Florida and two in Georgia and Texas. In addition, places in the 156-player field are reserved for eligible winners of official PGA Tour and PGA Tour Champions events in the weeks remaining before the 2019 U.S. Senior Open.

The USGA accepted entries from golfers in 48 states, including 56 from Indiana, and the District of Columbia, as well as 32 foreign countries. More than 2,700 entries have been filed in five of the last seven years. The record for entries was established in 2002, when 3,101 golfers applied to play.

In addition, there are seven U.S. Open champions among the 79 exempt players. They are: three-time champion Irwin (1974, 1979, 1990), two-time champion Lee Janzen (1993, 1998), two-time champion Retief Goosen (2001, 2004), Michael Campbell (2005), Tom Kite (1992), Corey Pavin (1995) and Tom Watson (1982). There are also eight U.S. Open runners-up entered. They are: Miguel Angel Jimenez (2000), Tom Lehman (1996), Davis Love III (1996), Rocco Mediate (2008), Montgomerie (1994, 1997, 2006), Loren Roberts (1994), Jeff Sluman (1992) and Watson (1983, 1987).

Dave Antill, a 52-year-old amateur from Dublin, Ohio, submitted his entry three seconds before the deadline of 5 p.m. EDT on May 8. Mick Soli, a 65-year-old professional from San Carlos, Calif., was the first entrant on Feb. 20.

Designed by Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw, the Warren Golf Course at Notre Dame will be the first collegiate course to host a U.S. Senior Open. This will be the 19th USGA championship held on a college-affiliated layout and the 2019 U.S. Senior Open will be the 22nd USGA championship contested in Indiana.

The list of the 79 golfers who are fully exempt into the 2019 U.S. Senior Open (as of May 8):

Stephen Ames Paul Goydos Colin Montgomeri
Billy Andrade Jay Haas Mark O'Meara
Magnus Atlevi Scott Hoch Gary Orr
Woody Austin Kohki Idoki Scott Parel
Paul Broadhurst Hale Irwin Corey Pavin
Olin Browne Peter Jacobsen Tom Pernice Jr.
Bart Bryant Lee Janzen Kenny Perry
Brad Bryant Miguel Angel Jimenez Tim Petrovic
Mark Calcavecchia Brandt Jobe Philip Price
Michael Campbell Kent Jones Jean-Francois Remesy
Roger Chapman Jerry Kelly Loren Roberts
Darren Clarke Jong-Duck Kim Gene Sauers
John Cook Tom Kite Wes Short Jr.
Fred Couples a-Sean Knapp Vijay Singh
Marco Dawson Bernhard Langer Jeff Sluman
Glen Day Paul Lawrie Paul Streeter
Clark Dennis Tom Lehman Steve Stricker
Chris DiMarco Davis Love III Kevin Sutherland
Stephen Todd Jeff Maggert Toru Suzuki
Scott Dunlap Prayad Marksaeng Ken Tanigawa
Joe Durant Billy Mayfair David Toms
Bob Estes Scott McCarron Kirk Triplett
Steve Flesch a-Michael McCoy Scott Verplank
Peter Fowler Rocco Mediate Duffy Waldorf
Fred Funk Gregory Meyer Tom Watson
Retief Goosen Shaun Micheel Chris Williams
    a-Jeff Wilson

BOLD=U.S. Senior Open champion

More From 40th U.S. Senior Open